Proboscis Monkey's Blog
 
Last year we learned about the genocide in Rwandan (1994). All the stories we read about it, really moved me. It made me curious as to what it would be like if I was there and what I would see, so I wrote this poem. And I know most people won't have a catharsis for this event, because it has made too deep of wound for the witnesses of this slaughter.

Bodies line the streets, I plug my nose.
I close my eyes, but nothing will erase this sight.
The smell sends my stomach churning.
I kneel over, I feel like I'm going to pass out.
Too deep inside my own head to realize
the truck had stopped, the people now flocking out.
What now?
They had everyone line up and take out their passports.
The soldiers showed no mercy, they killed on the spot.
"The days of the Tutsi are coming to an end."
"Sir, but what you are doing is wrong."
They did not waste their time,
She was pleading for her life,
We all watched in silence as two shots
were fired into her back side.
She should've known better than to speak out of line.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Qoutes:

    "Gravitation is not responsible for people falling in love." - Albert Einstein